My Love for Everything PR

“Public relations are a a key component of any operation in this day of instant communications and rightly inquisitive citizens.” – Alvin Adams

For as long as my memory allows me to go back I have loved to write.  Growing up, I would mostly just journal about my day to day life.  Looking back now I am so glad I did because it is pretty hilarious how cool I used to think I was. (Keyword: think)  As I have grown into an adult I truly believe that I am my most genuine self in written word.  About 99% of the time I can explain something better in writing than I can with words I let come out of my mouth.  Writing for me is a place of comfort and where I thrive the most.

As a Public Relations major at Missouri State University I have to write All. The. Time.  Lucky for me, it is what I enjoy the most.  There is something so satisfying about feeling a pencil glide across a piece of paper.  Especially when it is making a list of everything I need to do that day.  Lists are my best friend.  By best friend I mean no tasks will ever get done unless I make a list outlining everything I am responsible for completing.  By best friend I also mean lists just “get me” in a way no other human can. (Kidding.  Sort of.)

Choosing to study Public Relations in school has by far been the most rewarding decision I have ever made.  (Shout out to my boyfriend’s brother Shawn for introducing me to this major and career.  Love you, mean it!)  From the moment I declared PR as my major I have literally hit the ground running in being a part of everything PR related.  I even took the chance of putting my name out there to be selected as Missouri State University’s Public Relations Student Society of America president.  I truly believed it was a long shot but surprisingly  I was able to achieve this title for the 2017/2018 school year, which just so happens to be my last year of school before I graduate college next May. (Let me just say, graduation has been a long time coming, but I will get into my long 9 years of college in another post.)

Public Relations is more than a choice of study for me.  It has grown into such a passion that I did not realize I would ever have. By that I mean I can talk for hours and hours with my mom over a glass of wine about how much I love PR and what I plan to grow my PR career into.  Every time my parents and I go out to dinner I go on and on about the importance of education and what PR means to me.  Thankfully my parents are super supportive, but God bless them for having to listen to me talk about it for hours on end.  What can I say, though, I have finally found something I truly love and can build a lifestyle out of.  There is so much more I can say about PR but I will calm down about it for now.  However, I can guarantee that you will see a trend of PR related topics in posts to come.

To end my first post I just want to say thank you for checking out my page.  I will update my page at least once every week with new thoughts and ideas I come up with.  Thank you also for embarking with me on my journey into the world of PR!  If you want to keep in contact with me on other forms of social media check me out on Twitter and Instagram!

Twitter: @alyssaChenry
Instagram: achenry11

~Alyssa

 

 

 

One thought on “My Love for Everything PR

  1. Loved this blog & love watching you find your way. Smart, funny & so compassionate – looking forward to so much more with you.

    Like

Leave a Reply

